Stigma and Speaking for Others

As always, Drama Llama has an insightful take on Elizabeth Day’s article on mental health stigma (http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/aug/24/robin-williams-stigma-mental-illness), which antagonized a lot of people. Since at the moment, I have no time to scratch myself, let alone write blog posts :(, I’ll settle for re-blogging what Llama has said.

Also check out Charlotte Walker’s excellent post about the article, “A more accepting age? Why stigma is nowhere near a thing of the past”:
http://purplepersuasion.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/a-more-accepting-age-why-stigma-is-nowhere-near-a-thing-of-the-past/

One thought on “Stigma and Speaking for Others

  1. gravbeast Post author

    I suppose one thing I’d add is a comment on something Day said: “I don’t view mental illness as a scary, strange thing or as a form of weakness. Do you? I doubt it.”

    Actually, I do. I do view mental illness as scary, my own included. It’s something I don’t have full control over, it can affect me badly, and I think it’s not unreasonable to see that as a scary thing.

    And for that matter, I think everyone has strengths and weaknesses, advantages and disadvantages – and in that sense, for me (I don’t speak for anyone else) having a mental illness is a weakness: it comes with disadvantages, at times is crippling, and has stopped me doing things I want to do. It comes with a few advantages – I think it’s taught me a little more tolerance and understanding of others than I otherwise might have had – but it certainly isn’t what I’d called an unalloyed “strength”. I don’t think it’s any sort of a moral weakness, and I don’t think it makes me a bad or a weak person, but I don’t think I can really agree with Day’s claim.

Comments are closed.